I ain’t Lion, the Masai Mara is the place to take a safari!

A friend and great ape conservationist in Fairbanks, Holly Carrol,  told me that the Masai Mara is a good place to bang out your safari, probably bag all the animals.  I have always wanted to do safari but really hadn’t considered what all of the animals means but I thought this sounded pretty good. “Bag all the animals”. My mind drifted to giraffes, zebras, elephants, and lions- the stuff of our western childhood fairy tale’s. Reading about safari opportunities on the Dark Continent had been overwhelming me because of all the options, however, my mileage ticket bought one month before leaving Alaska put me in Nairobi as a starting point. I took Holly’s advice spending one day in Nairobi before booking a “4 day” safari in the Mara. Here are a few shots from the first evening.

DSC00046Flesh eating storks (Marabou stork)

DSC00056Red-billed oxpecker and water buffalo

DSC00069Zebra looks onDSC00077“Breadloaf tree”

DSC00083Boar

Lions were tomorrow not today ;>)

See more on FB

8 thoughts on “I ain’t Lion, the Masai Mara is the place to take a safari!

    • Yes. It is a shame that the guides have no respect for the animals or the place. The agencies in Nairobi want to get as many people in and out as possible. Anyway, it was amazing and beautiful. All my childhood animal dreams fulfilled.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Masai | ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

  2. Pingback: African safari from December 2013 (part 2) | ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Talk to me

