The Interior of Alaskan Life 7: Curtains of aurora borealis over a blanket of oilfield light

Photographer Greg Syverson shot this photo at Prudhoe Bay, Alaska on March 16/17 2013. Prudhoe Bay is one of the larger oil fields on Alaska’s North Slope.

45736_4976985774922_619551821_n

I was pretty fascinated by this photo when I stumbled across it. I asked the photographer if I could post it becasue I wanted to show you the juxtaposition between industry and the natural world we so often encounter here. As a nature boy, I usually just want the nature part but here it is oddly beautiful.  I can’t quite put my finger on why I find this image particularly attractive but I thought I would share this piece of Alaska with you.

What do you think when you consider the whole mix?

Read more stories about Alaska here or see more photos of the northern lights.

Feel free to share this image.

18 thoughts on “The Interior of Alaskan Life 7: Curtains of aurora borealis over a blanket of oilfield light

  1. Woo hoo! My nephew. Really, Alaska is such a small world, isn’t it? But I know what you mean about mixing extraordinary environment with the man made world. A common occurrence in Unalaska, where flat land is a premium, so you have great clumps of crab pots, fishing nets, cranes, container vans all interspersed with a stunning environment. I never really think about it until we get visitors who haven’t been to the island before; then I sometimes feel like I have to apologize. But somehow it works, and can actually be quite beautiful.

    Like

      • Yes. Nephew by a previous marriage, but once a nephew, always a nephew. Greg even got to come out to Unalaska once about 15 years ago, and one of my girls got to visit him when he was living in Bethel, I believe. Email was great for being able to keep in contact, but Facebook is better.

        Like

  2. Photos of the Northern LIghts will always amaze me, but I do have a thing about industrial landscapes as well. Ethically I’m against them, but there is a certain beauty about them that I can’t put my finger on.

    Like

  3. Looks like a portal opened and the love of the Universe showering down on you folks.

    The experience is similar to when I plays a music instrument, I am a constant positive energy emanating through the Universe.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Talk to me

